Vui Kong, we care (photo and updates)

By Rachel Zeng

We would like to thank everyone who came forward to participate in this photo taking session with us on Sunday. It was really motivating for the organisers to see such a show of support despite it being a last minute thing with only a day of notification.

When we met up with the elder brother of Yong Vui Kong later in the evening to pass him the money collected to help them out with their expenses during their stay here, he expressed that he was touched by the gesture and the show of support. He was very thankful and kept thanking us on the behalf of the family.

During my conversation with him, I asked again about how his mother is coping. He said,

“Vui Kong made my mother promise that she will forget him because he had committed such a serious crime and will be sent away. He told her that she won’t be able to see him again…”

I did not know what to say, I just felt so sad. It is so sad that I know it will stay in my mind for a long, long time if not forever.

